The JMK Young Director Award 2018 – application deadline

This prestigious, annual award is presented to one young theatre director of outstanding potential enabling them to mount a professional production at The Young Vic in London.

The JMK Trust was established in 1997 following the death of James Menzies-Kitchin, a young director of exceptional talent and promise.

Winning the JMK Award has been instrumental in launching the careers of some of Britain’s finest directors, including Thea Sharrock, Natalie Abrahami, Bijan Sheibani, Orla O'Loughlin, Polly Findlay and Joe Hill-Gibbins.

This year applicants will be asked to choose from a new list of plays which will be available before in the New Year. To request a copy of the list please email

Revised deadline for applications to be announced shortly.

See for more details. Some restrictions apply.