Winner 2009

Caroline Steinbeis

Production: Mad Forest by Caryl Churchill

CarolineSteinbeisCaroline graduated from the Central School of Speech and Drama. She attended the Directors’ Course at the National Theatre Studio in 2008. Directing credits include:

The Crucible (Royal Exchange Manchester), We Want You To Watch (National Theatre), The Broken Heart (Shakespeare's Globe), Show 6 (Lyric Hammersmith), And I Don't Care How You are Doing Anymore (Molody Theatre, Kiev), Talk Show (Royal Court Downstairs), Mint (Royal Court Downstairs), Brilliant Adventures (Royal Exchange Manchester), A Time To Reap (Royal Court Upstairs), Earthquakes in London (UK Tour for Headlong Theatre), Fatherland (Gate Theatre, selected for the Radikal Jung Festival, Munich), Charged/Re-Charged (Soho Theatre), Mile End (UK tour, winner of the Edinburgh Fringe First and Arches Brick Award 2007), Photo Story (BAC), Cosi Fan Tutte (Sadlers Well and UK tour).

Caroline has assisted at the National Theatre, The Globe, Hampstead, Traverse Edinburgh, A.R.T. Boston, the Birmingham Rep and the Riverside Studios on various productions and operas. As producer she has worked with ETT, Treatment, Theatre 503 as well as her own company Strike Ensemble.

It is immensely reassuring to have the support of the JMK Trust in an industry as challenging as the theatre world. I feel very fortunate to have been given this opportunity, and am incredibly excited to be putting together a production with the backing of such a fantastic creative team. I intend to enjoy this experience to the full - Caroline Steinbeis

madforest2Director Caroline Steinbeis, winner of this year's JMK Award, has set herself a difficult task with Mad Forest; here she triumphs - Lyn Gardner, The Guardian

madforest1A most ably acted play directed by Steinbeis with a steady precision and sensitivity to the nuances of people’s behaviour in love, in danger and in grief - Jeremy Kingston, The Times

Finalists in 2009 were Russell Bender, Derek Bond, Kate Golledge, James Hammond, Anna Jones, Ellen McDougall and Joseph Murphy. The selection weekend was led by Roxana Silbert, Ex-Artistic Director of Paines Plough, Associate Director of the RSC and vice-chair of the JMK Board. All finalists participated in a Designer/Director Development Week at BAC working with an award-winning team of creatives led by Jon Bausor and including Ian MacNeil, Ben Oremerod, Mark Espiner and Dan Jones of Sound and Fury, Douglas O'Connell, Ian Dickinson and Jon Clark.

Production photos by Graham Michael.