Winner 2012

This year’s JMK Award winner is Sam Pritchard with his production of Fireface by Marius von Mayenburg. Fireface is at the Young Vic from 28th September - 20th October.

Sam trained as a director at Birkbeck College London and on the National Theatre Studio Director’s Course. He was the New Writing Associate at the Royal Exchange between 2010 and 2012, where he ran the theatre’s new writing programme and the Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting. He was the winner of the JMK Award for Young Directors 2012 and is an Associate Artist of Company of Angels.

Directing includes: Anna (Aix Opera Festival/ENOA Workshop), There Has Possibly Been An Incident (Royal Exchange/Edinburgh St Stephens/Soho Theatre/Berlin Theatertreffen), Buy Nothing Day (Company of Angels), Fireface (Young Vic), Galka Motalka (Royal Exchange Studio) and Money Matters (nabokov/Soho Downstairs). (Photo by Rob Logan).

Sam says: “I am completely thrilled to be the recipient of this year’s JMK Award. The application and development process has been an unparalleled opportunity to learn about myself as a director and to develop a production of a play I care passionately about. To be given the unique privilege of realising that idea at a theatre like the Young Vic is overwhelming and hugely exciting. I can’t thank the JMK Trust and everyone involved in the award enough.”

The recipient of this year’s runner up prize, funded by the Ian Ritchie Foundation, is Simon Pollard with his production of Hedwig and the Angry Inch.

The 2012 finalists are Abigail Graham, Tim Hoare, Kate O’Connor, Kirsty Patrick Ward, Prasanna Puwanarajah and Josh Seymour.