Winner 2010

The JMK Award winner for 2010 is Matthew Evans, his production of The Jewish Wife by Bertolt Brecht ran at BAC in July/August 2010.

Matthew Evans has directed The Tiger That Isn’t (Edinburgh), The Spanish Tragedy (Corpus) and A Midsummer Night's Dream (Catford Broadway) for collaborative theatre company Gameshow Other directing credits include Bang Up (New Players Theatre) and She Stoops to Conquer (Hoxton Hall). Matthew assistant directed Saturday Night (Arts Theatre), Eurydice (Young Vic and tour), A Woman Killed with Kindness (National Theatre) and 13 (National Theatre). He has trained at the National Theatre Studio and Young Vic, where he hosts the work-in-progress night Freshworks. He has also run theatre workshops for young people with Peckham Shed youth theatre, Afghan Boys Club, Rose Theatre Kingston and Theatre Royal Plymouth.

This is a great opportunity and I would encourage all young directors, no matter what their background or experience, to apply for this award. I learnt so much from the application process alone. The JMK Trust is a huge support and an important player in today’s theatreMatthew Evans

Frankfurt, 1935. As a fascist government takes control, a woman plans her escape. A woman abandons her home, friends and family in an intimate moment played out across 1930s Germany. Immersing the audience in a landscape of domesticity and fear throughout the building, JMK winner for 2010, Matthew Evans, presents epic theatre on a small scale.

Runners up this year were Kate Budgen and Duncan MacMillan.